When in april 1912 the first stamps with the portrait of the new king Albert 1 where sold, it was not a great success, everybody complained about the mediocrity of the quality and the bad portrait of the king. It was stamp nr 111 of 10 c who came out first, and departing september stamp nr 123 of 25 c with an adapted portrait, but this was not much better. The complete ''Pellens" set consists of twelve stamps of which nine with the portrait of king Albert 1.
Therefore work was started immediately on the preparation of a new set of thirteen stamps, of which also nine with the portrait of the king; This would be the most used stamps namely from 1 cent until 40 cents. The other stamps of the set would become much greater, like the ''Vloors'' type,who where still in use.
-The highest value , the 5 fr, would remember the Belgian dynasty,namely the portrait of king Albert 1, in medaillon, framed by the portraits of king Leopold 1 and 2.
-With the 2 fr one would commemorate a great economical fact of the century; The occupation of Congo: an officer repells an Arabic slave driver for the Belgian flag, while a slave shows his ruptured chains and a negro woman shows her liberated child.
-The 1 fr would commemorate the opening of the river Scheldt.On the forplan one sees the port of Antwerp, while on the horizon a ship sails by with the inscription in two languages: ' the Scheldt liberated '.
-The stamp of 50 c would commemorate our nationale independence: a volunteer of the war against The Netherlands of 1830, dressed in a blouse, falls wounded while he passes the tricoulored flag to another combattant.This was an evocation of the death of count Fr‚deric de M‚rode,deathly wounded in Berchem in 1830.
During the preparations for these set of stamps, war broke out and the work was interrupted. The Red Cross of Belgium was mobilised and prepared itself to do its duty. To meet the financial needs of this organisation, the government decided to the publication of a set of stamps with an additional charge to support its humanitary works.
An ministerial arrest was published on 30/9/1914 and allowed the making of stamps of a type that was already in preparation and the manufacturing was granted to a private printing-office in Antwerp,while the production factory of stamps in Maligne was not available.
Because the purpose of the 50 c stamp was to commemorate the patriotism of the nation, it was entirely fit for the purpose,and the dicision was taken to make a new set consisting of three stamps. And this was the start of the set " Red Cross de Mérode."

Quand en avril 1912 les premiers timbres postes avec la représentation du nouveau roi Albert 1 seront vendu, c'était un petit désastre. Tout le monde se plaint du mauvaise qualité et le mauvais portrait du roi. C'était le timbre nr 11 de 10 c qui apparait le premier, et en partir de septembre le timbre nr 123 de 5 c avec un portrait adapté, mais ceci n'était pas une amélioration. La série complète de ''Pellens'' existe de 12 timbres postes dont 9 avec le portrait du roi.
On commençait immédiatement avec la préparation d'une nouvelle série de timbres postes, dont aussi 9 avec le portrait du roi. Ce seront les valeurs le plus usés, à partir de 1 à 40 centimes. L'autres timbres du série seront plus grands, dans le genre du type ''Vloors''.
-La plus haute valeur, le 5 fr, serait commémorer à la dynastie, avec le portrait du roi Albert, en médaillon, et flanqué par la portraite du roi Léopold 1 et 2.
-Pour le 2 fr on voudrait commémorer une grande événement economique; La reprise du congo; Un officier fait reculer un négrier Arabique pour le drapeau Belge, pendant qu'un esclave brise ses chains et une négresse montre son enfant libéré.
-Le 1 fr devrait évoquer l'ouverture de l'Escaut. Sur le premier plan on voi le port d'Anvers, pendant à l'horizon se passe un navire avec l'inscription bilingue: '' l'Escaut libéré ''.
-Le timbre du 50 c devrait commémorer notre indépendance nationale. Un volontaire de 1830, dressé dans un blouson, tombe blessé en donnant le drapeau tricolore à un autre combattant. C'était une évocation de la mort du cont Fréderic de Mérode, blessé mortellement à Berchem en 1830.
Pendant qu'on était en train de mettre en point cette série, la guerre d'august 1914 interrompait ce travail. La croix rouge de Belgique fut mobilisé et se prépare de faire son devoir, comme l'armée.Pour aller à la rencontre de ses besoins financielles, le gouvernement décide la fabrication urgente d'un série de timbres postes avec surtaxe pour soutenir le croix rouge.
Un arrêt ministérielle de 30/9/1914 permettait la fabrication de timbres postes d'un type qui était en préparation et on faisait produir une série de trois timbres par un imprimeur privé en Anvers, car l'atelier du timbre à Maligne n'était pas disponible.
Parceque le sujet du timbre de 50 c c'était de commémorer le patriotisme du nation, c'était un timbre très apte pour le but voulu, donc on considérait de faire une série de trois timbres avec surtaxe. Voici l'origine de l'émission du série croix rouge, dite de Mérode.