-MILITARY POSTMARKS
  Nr 1 until 6: division of the army with the same number
Nr 7 :cavalery division
Nr 8: headquarters at Houthem.
This was the situation before 2/1915. After that date the numbers were separated from the divisions for military safety. Also appeared a postmark without a number.
Starting from 3/1915 the postoffice in the headquarters was overworked, and it was divided in two,one with the number 8,situated in Calais, the other with the number 8bis,situated in Coudekerque-Branche.


 







REGISTERED LETTER TO LONDON.
STAMP : POSTES MILITAIRES BELGIQUE BELGIE LEGERPOSTERIJ 8.
STAMPS NR 126,127,128 and 145. NR 126,127,128 USED AS VIGNET , NR 145 USED AS PORT.
NORMAL PORT = 25C, REGISTER RIGHT ONLY ( FREEDOM OF PORT FOR SOLDIERS.)

FRONT SIDE OF THE LETTER.
1) BLUE CROSS : This is the English indication of an registered piece and originates from the time there were no special stripes to do this. We also find the blue colour of this cross on the English strips later, in contrast with other countries where the strips were painted in red.

 2) R GATA : N° 372 : French strip 'registered' ( under it 'recommandé' written by hand).
  G : Group
A : Administratif
T : (of the) Troops
A : (of the) Army

 3) S M : Service Militaire. This notation had to be put on by the Belgian military on all their letters send in portfreedom. The latter was introduced on the seventh of August 1914. On registered pieces the notice S M usually was omitted ( the exception proves the rule.)


BACK SIDE OF THE LETTER.
 1) OVAL STAMP : AU 16 LONDON. The oval stamp was only used for registered pieces . REGISTERED in the top ; In the middle the date of passing the post office : ? Augustus 1916 ; Beneath : LONDON.

 2) RIGHT LOWER CORNER : # D 28/30 REG FPO. In Anglo-Saxon countries the sign '#' has the meaning of 'number' . REG means registrated and FPO field post office. So this letter passed through the English field post office and has received a number ( like all registrated pieces) . Here it was number D 28/30

 3) ENVOI DE P. MAECK B 183 2' Cie A.B. Thus the letter was posted by P.MAECK of the 24' company of B 183 of the Belgian army. Concerning the notation "B 183" : Each part of the army was not mentioned by name, but received a code, consisting of a letter and a number, obviously for reasons of security. This code changed every year:
A = 1915
B = 1916
C = 1917
Z = 1918
The code mentioned here B 183 matches with the code C 58 and stood for: Premier groupement du corps des travailleurs Auxilliaires du Génie . Soldier P. Maeck belonged to the 24 ' company of this part of the Belgian Army.

With thanks to Arille Tassin.

- LES CACHETS MILITAIRES
  Les numéros 1 à 6: attachés aux divisions avec le même numéro.
Le numéro 7: attaché au division cavalérie
Le numéro 8: attaché au commendement central à Houthem.
À partir de Février 1916 les numéros sont détachés des divisions, pour raisons de sécuritées, et s'apparait aussi un cachet sans numéro.

 








Recommandé vers Londres.
Timbres poste nr 126,127, 128 et 145.
Cachet : Postes militaires Belgique België legerposterij 8.
Nr 126,127 et 128 comme vignet, nr 145 comme affranchissement.
Affranchissement normal 25 c ( lettre recommandé, franchise postal pour soldats) donc affranchissement fort exagéré.

DEVANT DU LETTRE.
1) CROIX BLEU : C'est l'indication Anglais pour un 'recommandé' et pourvient du temps qu'il n'existe pas un bande de recommandation. Nous trouvons aussi le couleur de ce croix sur les bandes de recommandations Anglais, en contraste avec les autres pays où les bandes etaient imprimés en rouge.
 2) R GATA : vignet de recommandation, au-dessus ' recommandé' écrit par la main.
  G : Groupement
A : Administratif
T : (des) Troupes
A : (de l') Armées
 3) SM : Service Militaire. Cette abréviation devrait être appliquer sur tous les objects de correspondance en franchise postale. Cette franchise de port était introduit à partir du 7 Aout 1914 . Sur les pièces reommandés ce sm était le plus souvent omis (des exceptions affirment le règle).
 4) ADRESSE :
  Henri Just
10 Powlette place
Chalk farm London
England N W

ARRIÈRE - COTÉ DU LETTRE.
 1) CACHET OVALE REGISTERED AU 16 LONDON. Cachet ovale seulement usé pour des objets de correspondance recommandés, traduit en haut comme 'registered' . En bas dans le cachet se trouve ' LONDON ' et au centre se trouve le date de transition : ? Août 1916.
 2) COIN DROITE EN BAS # D 28/30 REG FPO. Le signe # a dans les pays Anglo-saxon la signification du 'numéro' . Reg= registered (recommandé) ; FPO = Field Post Office.( Bureau de poste ambulante) . Ce lettte est donc passé par le bureau de poste ambulante Anglais où il est enregistré sous le numéro D 28/30.
 3) ENVOI DE P. MAECK B 183 24' CIE A. B. Le code b 183 est le même du code c 58, donc: premier groupement du corps des travailleurs auxilliaires du génie. À partir de 1915, chaque partie de l'armée n'est pas appelée par son nom, mais reçoit un numéro, à cause de sûreté. Ce code change chaque année.
   A = 1915
   B = 1916
   C = 1917
   Z = 1918
Le soldat P. Maeck faisait partie du 24' compagnie de ce fragment de l'armée Belge.
Nous remercions monsieur Arille Tassin pour son aide.